Reviews

What people are saying about Black Swan




Very Friendly, Great Food and Accommodation - Rating 5/5

I stayed for 3 nights on business earlier this week. The staff were very friendly as were the locals in the bar. The food is excellent and the rooms are clean, warm and comfortable. I wouldn\'t hesitate to recommend the Black Swan, so much better than a faceless, large chain hotel.

Reviewer: Mr. Andy Moirhouse | Fri 30th Sep 2016


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Lovely comfortable hotel. Friendly staff and good food. No complaints

Reviewer: Mr. Roger Craigen | Thu 29th Sep 2016


Hotel in the garden of Eden - Rating 4/5

Friendly and professional \'welcome\' from real people\' in a quiet historic hotel close to main routes.. Good food and easy car parking. I enjoyed the music on the first night. It gives you a glimpse or Cumbrian village life.

Reviewer: Alexander Leven | Wed 28th Sep 2016


A great stay - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable accommodation and an excellent restaurant. Highly recommended.

Reviewer: Keith Gleen | Tue 27th Sep 2016


great night in a country hotel - Rating 5/5

very comfortable well appointed little room. a little noisy at first as it is above the bar. but we slept very well all the same. evening meal in the restaurant was really good, well presented and full of flavour. great beakfast in the morning. we would come back with pleasure

Reviewer: Michele Mackay | Tue 20th Sep 2016


Lovely Country Inn - Rating 4/5

We had a king room at the back lovely room spotlessly clean and plenty of space,the downside was the extractor fan from the kitchen is very noisy from 7.30am to about 9pm and is right beside the window.The head waiter was lovely and attentive a pleasure to meet.The food was good but could I say more choice of fruit & cereal at breakfast as only grapefruit/prunes.As there was no reception we did flounder a bit on arrival but the same young man was soon with us (could we suggest a bell and notice on the table in residence lounge by the dining room)which would have been helpful.Overall it was a pleasant stay in very nice surroundings.So sorry we didn\'t get the waiters name he was a credit to the hotel.

Reviewer: Julie Windus | Mon 19th Sep 2016


Loved it!!! - Rating 5/5

I can\'t rate the black swan highly enough, we didn\'t check in till about half past 11 at night, yet the staff that greeted us us on arrival were still very welcoming and even opened the bar again so we could get a drink before bed. The rooms are also of a very high standard and very clean. Just what I needed after a long hard days work. I highly recommend this place! 10/10

Reviewer: Steven Anderson | Sat 17th Sep 2016


our stay at the black swan - Rating 5/5

excellent food. good service.no problems at all

Reviewer: Mr. Colin Cottam | Sat 17th Sep 2016


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Very friendly, great atmosphere,clean rooms and fantastic food. The evening meals and breakfasts are superb, hot and tasty. You have to book early to get in.

Reviewer: Ian Ashton | Mon 12th Sep 2016


Black Swan - Rating 5/5

Our 3 night stay at the Black Swan was exceptional. The staff were attentive and very friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable. The food was superb! Thank you all for a pleasant stay we hope to visit again soon. Kind regards from Rose and Paul.

Reviewer: Barklam | Mon 12th Sep 2016


Black Swan - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant staff, pleasing room with great view. The beds were comfortable and the dinner menu was excellent. Would recommend this hotel to others.

Reviewer: Caroline White | Sat 10th Sep 2016


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

We stumbled across this lovely place on our way back from a driving holiday in Scotland. It was our best accommodation on the trip. Very attractive, in a beautiful village with fantastic staff. Clean, comfy and excellent dining. We\'ll be back. Thanks.

Reviewer: James Monckton | Fri 9th Sep 2016


Overnight stay to visit friends - Rating 5/5

Would definitely recommend. Very good evening meal and breakfast. Clean well equipped and comfortable room and friendly helpful staff

Reviewer: Peter Cass | Tue 30th Aug 2016


Motorcycle tour - Rating 5/5

Lovely rooms and fantastic food. Great staff, thank you very much.

Reviewer: Kate Davidge | Sun 28th Aug 2016


Mr philip Bartram - Rating 5/5

It was a very pleasant two nights room was very clean and tidy,the meals were very good.staff very polite and helpful.

Reviewer: Bartram | Sun 28th Aug 2016


A little Gem - Rating 5/5

Fantastic stay food good ,staff excellent made most welcome cannot recommend enough especially with free fishing . Will be back

Reviewer: PATRICIA FALLOWELL | Sat 27th Aug 2016


Highly recommended establishment - Rating 5/5

I have no reservations in giving the Black Swan 5 stars. In our opinion the staff, location, facilities, room and food deserve no less. If we return to the area we will certainly try and book again.

Reviewer: Peter Morgan | Sat 27th Aug 2016


Pleasent stay - Rating 5/5

It was a lovely clean place meals were excellent & the staff were very polite & helpful. We just had an issue with our room being over the front door of the bar a bit noisy as people came & went otherwise very pleasant.Thank you all.

Reviewer: Audrey Bishop | Mon 22nd Aug 2016


over night visit. - Rating 5/5

used it on our return from Alnwick , found it in a good location. Room was great and well equipped. beds were very good .bathroom was great, shower first class.food was very good and the right price.will stay there again when the need arises.

Reviewer: Herbert Baines | Mon 22nd Aug 2016


short break - Rating 5/5

My husband and I have stayed here 4 times. We find the staff very welcoming and helpful. The bedrooms are beautifully furnished. Breakfast I GIVE 10/10. THE village is close to the A66 Peacefull setting for base to visit the lake district and surrounding villages. Would definitely return.

Reviewer: James Anthony Davidson | Sun 21st Aug 2016


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Fantastic location for exploring the surrounding area. Spent one night here on the way to Scotland. Room 6 was a double room with a separate single room within. Perfect for a couple with one child. Staff all friendly and very helpful. Dinner and breakfast excellent. Will use again when in the area. Highly recommend.

Reviewer: Janet Moy | Wed 17th Aug 2016


Group booking weekend break, perfect - Rating 5/5

Excellent! Accommodation clean, food perfect for a group of 8 adults, service spot on, professional, timely. Would strongly recommend this place to all.

Reviewer: Mark Jones | Tue 16th Aug 2016


A excellant stay - Rating 5/5

The Black Swan is set in a quiet village with lovely views. The rooms are compact but fitted with everything you need for a stay. Ask if you prefer a bath. Dining here is exceptional and I would recommend eating here even if you are not staying. The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

Reviewer: Maureen Williams | Mon 15th Aug 2016


Excellent - Rating 4/5

stayed here 2 yrs ago and thought it was was excellent , this opinion remains the same after our 2 day visit this week

Reviewer: Neilands | Sat 13th Aug 2016


Comfortable and welcoming - Rating 4/5

We stayed the night and ate in the restaurant. The room was comfortable and the evening meal was nicely presented and very tasty if a little expensive. I had the pork loin which I would recommend. It was a peaceful location and the staff were very welcoming.

Reviewer: Sandra Deery | Tue 9th Aug 2016


Journey Break - Rating 5/5

we used this hotel for an overnight stop on our way to Scotland. The welcome was immediate and friendly and we were shown to our room within a few minutes. The room was spacious, clean and modern. We had dinner in the restaurant and drinks in the bar of which the quality could not be faulted. We will definitely return....maybe for a little longer this time :-)

Reviewer: Lee Robinson | Mon 8th Aug 2016


Stay at the Black Swan - Rating 5/5

2nd time at the Black Swan and just as good as the first time friendly staff good food a good range of real ales and lagers good off road parking recommended

Reviewer: Mr. Alan Whitby | Fri 5th Aug 2016


What a find! - Rating 5/5

The Black Swan, near Penrith, is one of my top hotel finds of the year. Wonderful service, great night\'s sleep in a very well appointed bedroom, excellent food and an exceptional breakfast. I arrived late, but the owner went out of his way to prepare sandwiches for me and you couldn\'t ask for more - excellent. Will make this my \"driving South from Scotland\" stopover hotel - every time.

Reviewer: Paul York | Thu 4th Aug 2016


Pampered on the Coast to Coast - Rating 5/5

We stayed here after our first day of cycling the Coast to Coast route. The rooms were lovely, food was great and staff very helpful and flexible.

Reviewer: Catherine Connery | Sun 31st Jul 2016


Wifes Birthday - Rating 5/5

A lovely pub in a nice village,the room was extreemly comfortable and the breakfast could not be faulted .We enjoyed our break and would go again,would also like to mention Ben the barman for his excellent service and friendly chat that really made you feel at home.

Reviewer: Trevor Forster | Thu 28th Jul 2016


Great Accommodation, Good Location with Excellent Food - Rating 4/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Accommodation good although our King room only had a bath, a shower as well would have been a bonus. Staff welcoming, choices of food both at breakfast and in the restaurant in the evening are excellent, you will not go hungry.

Reviewer: Vanessa Bennett | Wed 27th Jul 2016


black Swan - Rating 5/5

Great accommodation, excellent food, lovely staff many thanks.

Reviewer: Mr. Geoff witt | Sat 23rd Jul 2016


Great Stay at The Black Swan - Rating 5/5

Stayed one night on journey from Somerset to Forfar. Great food and drink and polite, attentive staff. Would stay again without a doubt - only 15 minutes off the M6 which was a bonus.

Reviewer: Mr Phillip Cross | Thu 21st Jul 2016


Our stay at the Black Swan - Rating 5/5

After hiking in the Lakes we wanted to stay away from the busy over priced hotels near Keswick. Found this lovely local pub, ideally situated in the picturesque and quiet village of Culgaith. Friendly staff, excellent service, great menu, nicely decorated comfortable rooms, excellent value. Will definitely return.

Reviewer: Nicholas Sampays | Mon 18th Jul 2016


Lovely Lakeland Hotel - Rating 5/5

The staff were delightful and friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the Restaurant superb. It is conveniently situated for access to all of the lakes and the surroundings areas. We will definitely use again on our next visit.

Reviewer: PATRICIA SPEAKMAN | Mon 18th Jul 2016


Overnight Stay - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed a very relaxing and comfortable evening with you on Friday. See you soon. Thank you.

Reviewer: Fraser Proctor | Mon 18th Jul 2016


Stay at the Black Swan on 17th July 2016 - Rating 4/5

Evening meal and ro was e Our evening meal and accommodation were excellent.Unfortunately our breakfast was disappointing with both sausages and bacon rashers under cooked.

Reviewer: Gordon Evans | Mon 18th Jul 2016


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Very nice accommodation and people. Evening meal was outstanding. Stephen and the team should be truly credited for what they do to keep customers feel good about the place .

Reviewer: Mahinda Samaraweera | Fri 15th Jul 2016


High quality - Rating 5/5

We chose the Black Swan as a place to stay one night on our way back home from a week in Skye. What a brilliant choice. All staff were very friendly and helpful, the evening meal was superb in quality, the bar area was welcoming and easy on the pocket. Our room was spotless, with a very comfortable bed. We will return next year on our way to the Lake District, it is a real gem.

Reviewer: Williams | Tue 12th Jul 2016


Black swan, culgaith - Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic weekend accommodation was fantastic food was amazing and the staff were very welcoming and helpful, we will definitely be visiting the black swan again.

Reviewer: Joanne Diggle | Mon 11th Jul 2016


A great place to stay - Rating 5/5

I booked the Black Swan on an off chance. I was looking for somewhere to stay at the end of a day’s cycling and the Black Swan was the perfect distance from my start. I stayed there with my brother and I have to say the food was marvellous, the beer was great and the room was extremely comfortable. On top of this the staff were both polite and welcoming. Thanks again for the recommendation of the Rack of Ribs … they really hit the spot. Will

Reviewer: William Hogarth | Mon 11th Jul 2016


Great stay - Rating 5/5

We arrived cold and wet on the first leg of a Coast to Coast cycle ride. Great welcome received, really friendly & helpful staff, great food, excellent rooms. Excellent quality all-round, well recommend it. Super breakfast too!

Reviewer: Phil Youster | Mon 4th Jul 2016


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely staff, couldn\'t have been more helpful or friendly, great room and food.

Reviewer: Peter Sibley | Sun 3rd Jul 2016


lake district stay - Rating 5/5

an excellent overnight stay. the staff were welcoming and helpful, the room comfortable and the meals of the very highest standard. it is certainly on our must return list.

Reviewer: Edwin James | Fri 1st Jul 2016


Weekend Break - Rating 5/5

Booked 3 rooms for a group of 6 adults as part of a 60th birthday treat. The girls headed off to Center Parcs spa for the day whilst the boys went walking. Returned to Black Swan for dinner followed by excellent breakfast on Sunday morning. Clean and comfortable rooms, friendly efficient and helpful staff. Relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. Will happily stay here again.

Reviewer: Mr R Hughes | Thu 30th Jun 2016


liitle gem - Rating 4/5

Stayed here en route down south , met by a lovely gent , taken to our room which was room no,1 , its the one in the pictures with the tiger throw on the bed . Had a lovely stay and beautiful meal , good price too. Only thing bad I have to say about it was we were directly above the freezer in the bar area , and it buzzed all night kept my other half awake as it was quiet loud , Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to other friends and family.

Reviewer: Mrs. ann marie mcmurtrie | Wed 29th Jun 2016


Excellent country hotel - Rating 5/5

We have stayed here before so if we are in the area we stay here. Very comfortable rooms, very friendly and helpful staff and really excellent food. A few minutes from the 66 and ten from Penrith to a very scenic rural retreat. Also reasonably priced.

Reviewer: Fiona Wheatley | Thu 23rd Jun 2016


Motorbike holiday - Rating 5/5

A big thank you to all the staff at the black swan for our warm welcome. When we arrived it was raining and we were both wet through, after a quick check of the booking they showed us to our room, a twin room, the place was amazing. Clean, fresh, warm and plenty of room for two bikers with all their riding gear and their luggage. Friendly staff and knowledgable about the local beers which helped for my friend as he was an ale drinker. Locals are friendly and listened to my friends stories, I\'m surprised he didn\'t bore them stupid. Overall a great place to stay, wished the weather was a little better for us.

Reviewer: Lee Newton | Tue 21st Jun 2016


Top! - Rating 5/5

Amazingly good. Friendly staff. Tasty food. Nice and clean room. Everything was top.

Reviewer: David Weijmiens | Sat 18th Jun 2016


A welcome break to our journey - Rating 5/5

Another comfortable stay. Engaged staff, good food. Left in the morning refreshed.

Reviewer: Mr. Daniel Douglas | Wed 15th Jun 2016


OVERNIGHT STAY - Rating 4/5

We would choose a larger room next time if available.We only stayed one night on our return from Scotland so was ample for our needs this time. The food in the restaurant was excellent as was the cleanliness of the establishment. Recommended.

Reviewer: RITA BALL | Tue 14th Jun 2016


X - Rating 5/5

Excellent food with a fantastic service. Lovley clean rooms with the most comfiest bed. Staff couldn\'t do eviugh for you

Reviewer: Kaye Mitchell | Wed 8th Jun 2016


Overnighter - Rating 5/5

We stayed overnight as we wanted to sample the dinner menu.we had been for lunch a couple of times but it was too far to go home after dinner. Well our excuse. We had a lovely meal,comfortable room and the staff were brilliant. Looking forward to staying again.

Reviewer: Avril Done | Sun 5th Jun 2016


Great room. - Rating 4/5

Fantastic room for the price. Extremely well equipped and very comfortable bed. Shame about the breakfast, burnt toast with very thin cut bread. Toast needs a thick cut bread, and we both asked for one poached egg but got two over cooked ones.

Reviewer: Mr. Brian Jupp | Tue 31st May 2016


Walkers paradise - Rating 5/5

Friendly staff, excellent service, superb food and a comfy bed, all in a great location what more do you need

Reviewer: Rob Dickerson | Tue 31st May 2016


Pleasant resting place - Rating 4/5

Attentive and welcoming staff . Room was adequate, breakfast was excellent.

Reviewer: Chris Parker | Fri 27th May 2016


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

So easy to park, friendly staff. We loved our room have stayed before comfortable bed.

Reviewer: Peter Osborne | Tue 17th May 2016


Break in the Eden Valley - Rating 4/5

A delightful place to enjoy this beautiful part of the Lakes. The welcome was genuinely pleasant from all members of staff. The rooms were well appointed, very clean and comfortable. We had a problem with noise from the freezer in the kitchen below our room but we were relocated immediately. We decided to eat in the Black Swan both evenings and were delighted with our decision. The food was delicious with plenty of choice for a good price. Breakfasts were equally good although one of the party was disappointed that kippers were on the menu but not available either day. We had a quick walk around the village of Culgaith and found it to be charming, somewhere we will definitely visit again, and we would have absolutely no hesitation in booking accommodation in the Black Swan again. Thank you for making our stay so pleasant.

Reviewer: Gill Roddam | Mon 16th May 2016


Fantastic. - Rating 5/5

My husband and myself have stayed here a number of times now and we just love it. Whichever room we have is decorated to a high standard and is very colour-co-ordinated. Lovely staff, amazing food and a wonderful place to stay.

Reviewer: Margaret Carter | Thu 12th May 2016


Lovely short break - Rating 5/5

Located within easy reach of lakes, excellent room and great food,very friendly staff would love to come back again .

Reviewer: Mr. David Randle | Tue 3rd May 2016


One night only but memorable - Rating 5/5

Excellent food, great service and clean, comfortable rooms. Excellent stay and would recommend to anyone.

Reviewer: Tony Withers | Mon 2nd May 2016


lovely food and place - Rating 4/5

Our second visit and just as delightful as last time. If only you could control the weather on Cross Fell as well as you do the place. Our room was beautiful & the bed very comfortable. The beer was greart and the food delicious. The only down-side was the room was over the bar entrance where people gather to smoke and, inevitably, chat. They were quiet & restrained but it made it impossible to get to sleep before 11.30. Not much you can do about that as their behaviour wasn\'t unreasonable.

Reviewer: Colin Bradshaw | Sun 1st May 2016


Excellent place - Rating 5/5

Excellent hotel, food, staff and ambience

Reviewer: Mr. joe mcconnell | Mon 25th Apr 2016


Graeme from Newcastle - Rating 5/5

Very smart pub with fantastic food

Reviewer: Graeme Scott | Mon 18th Apr 2016


Great place to stay - Rating 4/5

We\'ll be back, next time we\'ll choose a larger room. Great hospitality, food and service.

Reviewer: Graham Harper | Mon 11th Apr 2016


Weekend stay - Rating 5/5

The rooms are very clean and comfortable. With a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. We booked a table for dinner which was an excellent meal. Will definitely go again.

Reviewer: Mr. John Jackson | Mon 11th Apr 2016


Excellent one night stop - Rating 5/5

Arrived and a member of staff assisted with getting baggage from the car to the room despite it being a busy Saturday night. The room was fine and although it was at the front it was was quiet. Not large but very comfortable and suitably appointed. No plumbing or noise from other rooms - remarkable in an old building. My dinner was excellent as was breakfast. The staff were extremely friendly as were the locals eating or drinking on the Saturday night. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Reviewer: Iain Houston | Mon 11th Apr 2016


A lovely location - Rating 4/5

Beautiful village, very good food, room arrangement a bit quirky (rooms seperate from the inn). Not sure what this would be like in wet weather. But very comfortable and friendly. Would be a good place to stay for longer to explore the wonderful scenery & history of North Lancashire. Good walking too. Small niggle but our room did not have seating.

Reviewer: Donal Paul Fellows | Fri 1st Apr 2016


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Room was small but cosy, food absolutely delicious, bar lovely, staff totally dedicated friendly and so helpful

Reviewer: Myra McLoughlin | Mon 28th Mar 2016


Perfect! - Rating 5/5

We decided to do something different for New Year this year, and thought it would be nice to get away for a change. And we could not have picked a better place to stay! As soon as we arrived we were welcomed and made to feel at home. We stayed for two nights (30th and 31st December) and were just expecting to have a relaxing break! As well as this, without meaning to, we had booked for a fantastic meal on the night of New Year, and joined in the celebrations. It was a perfect stay. We couldn\'t have asked for more. Perfect location, excellent food, lovely property, amazing rooms and brilliant service! We will definitely be coming back and we have already recommended to friends and family! Thank you!

Reviewer: Anna Wright | Tue 5th Jan 2016


Overnight stay enroute to Scotland - Rating 4/5

very welcoming with open fire in bar; room pleasant and quiet. Evening meal well presented and enjoyable. Training and interpersonal skills of young waiting staff at breakfast needs improvement.

Reviewer: Gerald Wells | Sun 3rd Jan 2016


New Year\'s Eve at the black swan - Rating 4/5

Stayed over New Year. Excellent food, lovely clean room and welcoming staff. Stephen\'s customer care is fantastic particularly the little touches such as carrying our glasses through to the restaurant. Will definitely recommend and return.

Reviewer: Mrs Hopkinson | Sat 2nd Jan 2016


Over night stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed here one night on our way to Scotland to visit my Son and Granddaughter. Very nice room, good food and overall enjoyable stay.

Reviewer: Christine Humphreys | Wed 16th Dec 2015


A little gem - Rating 5/5

We have stayed here a few times now and have never been disappointed. Although the room was small it was nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. The staff were all very friendly, helpful and efficient. We had an excellent evening meal. We will be back!

Reviewer: Ruth Crighton | Fri 11th Dec 2015


Could not be faulted. What a secret gem. - Rating 5/5

We stayed here last minute at the weekend when we couldn\'t get to our original booking. We had fabulous rooms which were immaculate and clean. We then ate in the restaurant where we had excellent food. We were made to feel very welcome, even with an excitable 3 year old in tow. We will definitely be going back very soon.

Reviewer: Annya Humble | Mon 7th Dec 2015


Black Swan is all Gold !!!! - Rating 5/5

Welcoming Staff. Well kept ales. Excellent dinner and breakfast both in quality and presentation. Very good value.

Reviewer: H T Morris | Mon 30th Nov 2015


Excellent celebration stay - Rating 4/5

My husband and I stayed for a night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had a warm welcome on arrival and were given a cosy double room which was very clean.We had an excellent evening meal which was very reasonably priced for the quality of the produce The breakfast served in the morning was also very good quality the only criticism is the room was very noisy when we first went to bed due to being located above the bar area and the front door being below the window although this ceased around 11.30

Reviewer: Julie Chamberlain | Mon 9th Nov 2015


Excellent stopover - Rating 5/5

A fantastic stay, really easy to get to and park. Close to plenty of activities around the local area including fishing. Everything was seamless and the rooms were really good, clean and the bathroom had plenty of towels and toiletries for your stay. The hotel itself has a lovely decor and feel to the place and you felt at home as it was so cosy. The pub had a dinning area and served us wonderful tasty food and had interesting specials such as filet steak. Breakfast was lovely, full English or your own choice of hot breakfast with the usual continental supplied. Staff were really friendly and helpful and couldn\'t have done more to make us feel welcome. We will certainly be coming back again next year.

Reviewer: Rachel Tejera | Mon 9th Nov 2015


Great Place - Rating 5/5

Hubby and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Black Swan, we stopped there for one night, had a great meal and good breakfast, staff were really great, very friendly and extremely helpful, would definitely recommend this place to others and hope to be back again soon

Reviewer: Dr Dorothy Evans | Mon 2nd Nov 2015


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

Excellent from the moment we walked in until the second we walked out. Lovely room, great service and beautiful food. We will return.

Reviewer: Paul Dandy | Mon 26th Oct 2015


Outstanding - Rating 5/5

Excellent -very helpful clean and comfortable .incredibly comfortable beds good food, - what else do you need?

Reviewer: Peter Sinclair-Knipe | Mon 26th Oct 2015


Excellent North Lakes Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 3 nights during August with my 89 year old mother and we\'re delighted by the attention we were given. The food was superb and my mother ate everythng in front of her - more than us in fact. My mother is very active and we visited Penrith, Ullswater, Ambleside and Keswick on our stay and although the weather was not particularly good enjoyed the break. Altogether a really good place to stay We will probably return with friends next year as we enjoyed it so much.

Reviewer: Stewart Bloomer | Tue 29th Sep 2015


Lovely place to stay. - Rating 5/5

Warm welcome, friendly staff, comfortable room , excellent food. Will stay again, and have recommended to family and friends.

Reviewer: Joyce Jones | Sun 6th Sep 2015


My short stay - Rating 4/5

Great service and great food.

Reviewer: V E Norris | Sat 5th Sep 2015


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

This was a lovely place to stay, very clean, lovely bar area and excellent restaurant and good service and very friendly staff. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer: Lynne Girkin | Fri 4th Sep 2015


good value - Rating 4/5

Easy parking, good food, comfortable room.

Reviewer: Robert Lupo | Thu 3rd Sep 2015


Good stay - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable stay, helpful staff, clean bedroom and good food.

Reviewer: Richard Excell | Thu 27th Aug 2015


Excellent Choice - Rating 5/5

Very happy to recommend the Black Swan as a base for exploring the Lake District. Our accommodation was comfortable and clean. The staff made us feel welcome. We decided to eat at the Black Swan and had a delicious meal. The breakfast was excellent.

Reviewer: MARY MURRAY | Tue 25th Aug 2015


Long journey stopover - Rating 4/5

A genuine English country pub offering very good accommodation and personal service.

Reviewer: James Mills | Mon 24th Aug 2015


Very comfortable stay - Rating 4/5

We booked a double room at the Black Swan for one night during the second week of August 2015. The staff at the Black Swan was really nice and welcoming. Overall our stay was very comfortable, except for the alarm going off once during the night and once early in the morning. The room contained all the basic facilities that you would expect from such an establishment.

Reviewer: Hassan Farooq | Wed 19th Aug 2015


Very comfortable stay - Rating 4/5

We booked a double room at the Black Swan for one night during the second week of August 2015. The staff at the Black Swan was really nice and welcoming. Overall our stay was very comfortable, except for the alarm going off once during the night and once early in the morning. The room contained all the basic facilities that you would expect from such an establishment.

Reviewer: Hassan Farooq | Wed 19th Aug 2015


60th birthday visit. - Rating 5/5

We did our booking through Booking.com which indicated our room would be ready from 12.30 although we were told that was wrong when we got there about 12.50, normally 2.00. Despite this a very capable young man invited us to have a drink and whilst we waited he arranged for our room to be fully prepared. By 1.20,we were in our room which was great. A bit of a squeeze for two in the bathroom but the room was clean, bathroom was well equipped and the bed very comfortable. Although we did not eat there other than having a very good breakfast we got the impression that the food was of a good standard which was supported by our local friends. Thought the staff were very professional and well trained. Despite our room (No 2 being above the main bar)we were not disturbed other than the alarm being set at midnight presumably when the bar was closed. Plenty of parking at front and rear. Easy to find in the village.

Reviewer: Peter Hayman | Wed 19th Aug 2015


Very good - Rating 5/5

A nice hotel with good food, room and serviceminded personal.

Reviewer: Peter Olsson | Sat 8th Aug 2015


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly recommended. A great and quiet location with excellent service, an immaculate room and quality food. I was only staying one night being away on business, but would definitely stay again. I only wished I had brought my fishing rod...

Reviewer: Alister Thompson | Fri 7th Aug 2015


Review of stay - Rating 4/5

Very clean, comfortable and warm. Food was lovely. My husband and I were very welcomed.

Reviewer: Lisa Lazarus | Thu 6th Aug 2015


great black swan - Rating 5/5

what can i say fantastic hospitality along with fab food presented and prepared to excellent standards the black pudding salad was to die for all round excellent hostilry fantastic thx

Reviewer: Elizabeth Lyle | Mon 6th Jul 2015


A restful stop - Rating 4/5

Comfortable room, good food, quiet location. Excellent stop after a long drive.

Reviewer: Mr. Andrew Frazer | Mon 29th Jun 2015


Overnight stop - Rating 5/5

Warm efficient welcome, with an offer to carry our case - most unusual! Room was clearly recently refurbished, had all we needed, clean, comfortable. Evening meal was truly excellent, we had expected nice pub food, but this was on a level above that. Equally good freshly cooked breakfast too. Public rooms modern and comfortable. Only downside was that an outside door kept slamming and was very audible in our room. Perhaps the closer needs adjustment? Thank you for a very welcome stay.

Reviewer: Mrs. Janet Evans | Mon 22nd Jun 2015


1night stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent All staff helpful & friendly

Reviewer: Eddie Bowe | Mon 22nd Jun 2015


Excellent little boutique hotel. - Rating 5/5

Clean, tasteful, comfy rooms, fine food & wine, accomodating helpful staff - couldn\'t really wish for more!

Reviewer: Stephen Moor | Tue 16th Jun 2015


at last - Rating 5/5

well the black swan what a great venue to rest ones weary head being from greystoke we come back to gods country to visit family after all these years we hit the swan it does not feel like a pub GREAT

Reviewer: Brian Brindle | Mon 15th Jun 2015


Stop over on journey to visit family. - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation and good food.

Reviewer: George Taylor | Sun 14th Jun 2015


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable accomadion so much so we slept in until 9.15 . Would definitely stay again if passing this way.

Reviewer: Mr. John Craig | Mon 1st Jun 2015


very nice place - Rating 5/5

The staff were lovely and the place is beautiful

Reviewer: Jacquelyn Swinbank | Fri 29th May 2015


Really comfortable and friendly - Rating 4/5

Warm welcome, good food and comfortable room.

Reviewer: Donald Hepburn | Tue 26th May 2015


Two satisfied customers - Rating 5/5

We had 2 nights bed & breakfast and evening meals. The hotel and rooms were kept very clean and the staff very pleasant and helpful. The food was excellent and we would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Reviewer: Mr. mike willingham | Tue 26th May 2015


Perfect location and a perfect experience. - Rating 5/5

We made this booking for a overnight stay on route back to Essex from Plockton West Scotland. What a nice location in a small quite village and a nice sunny day to finish the holiday on. Parked right outside the Inn very easily, staff were on hand and very attentive nothing was any trouble. Room was a King room with a nice view of the back garden and field beyond, room was large very well equipped and very clean. Local ale was served just right and made a refreshing afternoon experience in the garden. Dinner was fantastic we both enjoyed that and finished with the cheese slate and a malt whiskey for good measure. Relaxing evening and very enjoyable. Breakfast was very good and was enough to send us on our way. A very comfortable, enjoyable and memorable 1 night stay...next time hopefully it will be longer and will include the local fishing!!. Thanks to all at the Black Swan Inn

Reviewer: Andy Whittaker | Mon 25th May 2015


Overnight Stay - Rating 5/5

Accommodation first class. Clean well appointed rooms, staff very approachable and friendly. 30 minutes from Keswick, 15 from Pooley Bridge, so most walks in the mid to northern part of the Lakes within easy reach.

Reviewer: Lyndon Heap | Mon 18th May 2015


Weekend in Keswick - Rating 5/5

We stayed in the Black Swan on the way to Keswick. Our room was very clean, well decorated and comfortable. We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel, both were excellent, the service was very good.

Reviewer: David Clarke | Tue 12th May 2015


A very pleasent stay - Rating 5/5

Room, food and beer were excelent. We would definately stay here again.

Reviewer: Micheal Newsome | Tue 5th May 2015


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for one night on our way to Scotland . Lovely accommodation , very clean . Chris very helpful . Dinner & breakfast excellent .

Reviewer: Mary Stoddart | Fri 1st May 2015


Black Swan - Rating 5/5

Met up with an old friend at the Black Swan. Great evening, excellent food, friendly staff, nice room, really enjoyed it. Would definitely go back.

Reviewer: Sheelagh Mellows | Wed 29th Apr 2015


Week end treat - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay lovely room good service, food very good would highly recommend , hope to go back end of May but can see you booked up

Reviewer: Steven Brough | Mon 27th Apr 2015


A 4 star experience. - Rating 4/5

A very nice hotel in a typically quiet Cumbrian village. We had a lovely en suite room newly decorated to a high standard & most comfortably furnished. The food was good & the staff friendly & considerate. We\'ll stay again.

Reviewer: James Dale | Sat 25th Apr 2015


Separate two nights stay on the way to the North - Rating 5/5

We used the Black Swan as a stop-over on the way to Scotland to break up the 550 mile journey to Fort William from Portsmouth. We did the same on the return journey. Couldn\'t fault the Black Swan. A recent revamp ensured the accommodation was excellent (King Size Rooms). The food was superb (nice wine selection too) and the staff friendly, very polite and they take time to converse with you. Thoroughly recommended. Take time to walk down to the river if you go there.

Reviewer: Mr. Michael Ponsford | Fri 24th Apr 2015


Very pleasant night\'s stay - Rating 4/5

I spent just one night at the Black Swan but was very impressed. Great location, warm welcome, good food and beer, a cosy, clean room and generally excellent value for money. Thanks!

Reviewer: A Peel | Fri 24th Apr 2015


Lovely Wee Inn - Rating 4/5

Lovely wee inn Amazing food. Think our twin room No5 was a bit overpriced as very small but everything was immaculate

Reviewer: Mr Keith Yuill | Wed 15th Apr 2015


Excellent - Rating 5/5

An excellent hotel. Great staff. Very clean and friendly. Great chef producing excellent food. Will definitely be staying there again.

Reviewer: Kevin Scarisbrick | Mon 6th Apr 2015


Highly recommende - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant overnight stop. Staff polite and friendly. Food excellent. Wished we could have stopped longer.

Reviewer: Mr. Brian Bramman | Fri 3rd Apr 2015


Awesome - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay, staff were lovely, rooms were great, breakfast was fab!

Reviewer: Miss Victoria Macfarlane | Mon 30th Mar 2015


Great place to stay. - Rating 5/5

We go to Scotland every year and like to stop en route. This is our first time at The Black Swan and will not be the last. Very clean, comfortable and fresh looking with an excellent restaurant. The food was well cooked, a good selection and plenty of it. All the staff are very friendly and good at their jobs. I would recommend this as a very good place to stay and very good value.

Reviewer: Mr Birch | Mon 30th Mar 2015


Black Swan - Rating 5/5

Stayed for just one night but really enjoyed it. Room was immaculate and very clean. Plenty of tea/coffee etc in the room. Just one thing,please expand your vegetarian options for dinner.

Reviewer: Pauline Kua | Mon 30th Mar 2015


AB FAB!! - Rating 5/5

We came across the Black Swan by accident, just trawling the internet looking for somewhere nice to stay. The Black Swan is lovely, the man who checked us in even carried our bags for us. We were shown our room, which was lovely, everything we needed was available. The rooms are well appointed and extremely clean. The room was warm but we just turned the heating down. The lounge bar is fantastic, don\'t believe what you read on other review sites, the drinks aren\'t overly expensive and there are lots of drinks to choose from. The bar man was lovely, he chatted to us about local ales and how much he enjoys helping select the ones that are guesting. Even the locals chat to you, which is nice. We had dinner here, the food is fantastic, lovely friendly waitresses. We had three courses each. The prices are realistic and food is well presented and there\'s plenty to eat. Breakfast in the morning was help yourself to juice, coffee, cereal and fruit. There\'s a choice of cooked options, my husband had the grill (Full English) I had poached eggs on toast. then there\'s toast and marmalade or jam. Tea is available. The waitress brings you more toast or tea/coffee if you want it. Check out is easy and quick but you are not rushed out of the door. The staff are lovely here, nothing is too much trouble, even the chef laughed when I told him he\'d spelt something wrong on the specials board and he didn\'t cry when I asked for well done lamb. I\'d definitely recommend The Black Swan, it\'s a really nice place to stay and we will be back. Thanks to all concerned. xx

Reviewer: Mrs Karen Ryan | Mon 30th Mar 2015


Phil and Lisa Northampton - Rating 5/5

Very warm welcome and friendly staff. Good atmosphere in hotel and ideal location to enjoy the local area. Restaurant excellent. Used it as a stopover on way to Scotland but would consider staying again to explore lake district.

Reviewer: Mr Phillip Caunce | Tue 24th Mar 2015


Overnight stay at The Black Swan - Rating 5/5

The Black Swan is an excellent place to stay. It is so clean and the decor and furnishings are beautiful and our bedroom was immaculate. The staff were so helpful and pleasant they made us feel so welcome. We had breakfast which was better than we have had in good hotels, I would recommend the Black Swan to everyone and would stay there again.

Reviewer: Lynda Wallace | Fri 20th Mar 2015


A lovely weekend away - Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic time at the Black Swan. We met as a family for a birthday meal and were looked after brilliantly by Chris and the rest of the team throughout. The room was very nice and comfortable, great food, fab atmosphere and cosy. I need to emaphasise that the young chap (we think it was Chris), who gave us a very warm welcome and looked after us was a real credit to the Black Swan. Extremely polite and attentive. Breakfast was delicious, and again, the staff were brilliant. We have found our ideal meeting point between our family homes and will certainly return the Black Swan without hesitation.

Reviewer: Mr. Steven Johnson | Mon 16th Mar 2015


A Tasty and Characterful Inn - Rating 5/5

If you could find a place that was very comfy in the bar, had a choice of real ales on tap, served freshly cooked fabulous food, and then also had bedrooms that were comfy, clean and big, you\'d have something good. If it was set in a village in the midst of some of our most gorgeous countryside, then I think you\'d agree that it was a near perfect find. Well, the Black Swan is set in the Eden Valley, which gives you a clue as to why you should go and see if you agree with my perfect find.

Reviewer: Phil Cocker | Wed 11th Mar 2015


Very pleasant stay! - Rating 4/5

Stayed for 2 nights in Room 1. Nice size room and the twin beds converted into a King size, which is what we wanted. Only snag was there was no shower in that room, just a bath. Otherwise all very good. Nice bar and restaurant. We enjoyed having a drink by the fire and had two gorgeous meals there over both nights. Would definitely revisit. Would like to have seen a competitive dinner bed and breakfast rate though, as a 2 night stay with dinner and drinks on both nights was £370, which was a tad expensive for the length of time spent.

Reviewer: Adam Howes | Tue 3rd Mar 2015


idyllic break - Rating 5/5

We had a very enjoyable two night stay at The Black Swan and would highly recommend it to anyone. The staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful throughout and the food was delicious. There was a good choice for breakfast and was cooked fresh, we also had dinner on the second night and wished we had arrived earlier on the first as we could have ate there then as well. We will definitely return for another stay in the future. Many Thanks to you all. From Paul, Louise and Jack

Reviewer: Mr Paul Thomas | Mon 16th Feb 2015


black swan - Rating 5/5

Fantastic stay, great food, just one comment no heating in the room on second day and got a bit chilly

Reviewer: Dent | Mon 26th Jan 2015


A Little Gem - Rating 5/5

I booked the Black Swan as a birthday surprise for my husband & also to visit Keswick & surrounding area. The Black Swan is the perfect getaway for peace & quiet with fabulous food and immaculate accomodation. Staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble.The Black Swan has a four star rating but in my opinion it should be 5 stars.I would highly recommend the Black Swan.

Reviewer: Mrs. Sandi Sixton | Sat 24th Jan 2015


And the winner is...... - Rating 5/5

One night was too short. It\'ll be longer next time. This is a warm, welcoming hotel that sets the gold standard for those wanting a quiet, small get away bolt hole.

Reviewer: Mr. David Patterson | Fri 23rd Jan 2015


Our stay at the Black Swan - Rating 5/5

The hotel is spotless. the staff couldn\'t do enough for us I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. The open fire is so nice in January They even accommodated my daughters dog in the side dining room when we went for my son in laws 40th birthday. The food is a tad expensive but is beautifully cooked and would eat there again without hesitation. Many thanks to the staff for our stay

Reviewer: Nigel Bramley | Thu 22nd Jan 2015


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

Beautifully appointed, warm and comfortable rooms. Wifi super easy to access and very reliable so working after dinner was very easy. Really nice staff in both the evening and morning. Great food - both dinner (with a great choice of beers and wine) and breakfast Would definitely go back and would definitely recommend

Reviewer: Mychelle Dean | Thu 15th Jan 2015


Black Swann Inn, Penrith - Rating 5/5

Excellent country pub and inn, comfortable rooms, good food, friendly atmosphere, definitely somewhere to stay again

Reviewer: Mr W Watts-miller | Mon 5th Jan 2015


Lovely New Years Eve - Rating 5/5

What a lovely little find this was...my partner and I spent New Years Eve here....we booked the 7 course meal that was on offer and it was lovely, we both really enjoyed it. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are very friendly. Would highly recommend this place to all.

Reviewer: Miss Rosalyn Harding | Thu 1st Jan 2015


v g - Rating 4/5

Room a bit on the small side otherwise food and real beer just great.

Reviewer: Alan Emslie | Wed 31st Dec 2014


Black swan stay - Rating 5/5

A wonderful hotel with a wonderful atmosphere The staff were lovely they could not do enough. The room was fabulous and the meal was Devine and despite being busy we were never neglected Looking forwards to going back soon perfect

Reviewer: Louise Shannon | Sun 21st Dec 2014


Hidden Gem - Rating 5/5

We came across The Black Swan by chance and had a very pleasant surprise. The reception was friendly and most welcoming, the room comfortable, the beer excellent and the food superb. We will certainly be staying again next time we are in the area. But don\'t tell everybody, we\'d like it to be our little secret.

Reviewer: Mr. Brian Lord | Mon 15th Dec 2014


xxxx - Rating 4/5

Staff were extremely pleasant & helpful. Breakfast excellent, bedroom could have been a bit bigger.

Reviewer: Stewart Potter | Mon 24th Nov 2014


Black Swan, Culgaith - Rating 5/5

We could not fault this establishment, friendly staff, excellent food, clean warm and cosy rooms. A great location being in a quiet village not far off the M6 allowing easy access to Penrith, Carlisle, the north lakes and the coast or drop down into Yorkshire. Would certainly use again.

Reviewer: Dawn Berry | Mon 24th Nov 2014


Black Swan, Culgaith - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay at the Black Swan in a lovely area. Fantastic food, rooms very good and spotlessly clean. All staff were professional, extremely friendly and welcoming. We will definitely return.

Reviewer: Stuart & Sharon Dale | Tue 18th Nov 2014


Return visit - overnight stay - Rating 4/5

A pleasant stay, once again. Room comfortable and an excellent supper in the cosy bar with a very good breakfast before we left. We shall use The Black Swan again.

Reviewer: James Grant | Thu 13th Nov 2014


Recommended - Rating 5/5

Good pub accommodation done well

Reviewer: Mr. Philip None | Tue 11th Nov 2014


Beautiful Country Hotel - Rating 5/5

This is the third year that we\'ve visited The Black Swan and it\'s consistently wonderful. The staff are friendly and helpful. The accommodation is clean and tidy. The food is tasty and filling and the overall atmosphere is like a home from home - particularly sitting in the bar in front of a roaring fire! We\'re already looking forward to staying again next year.

Reviewer: Mrs Mc Laughlin | Thu 16th Oct 2014


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

Everything about The Black Swan was lovely, Great place to come back to after a long walk Comfy, clean room Excellent food Friendly efficient staff Loved it so much have booked again for next month

Reviewer: Mrs Taylor | Mon 13th Oct 2014


highly recommended - Rating 5/5

A very enjoyable stay, while gliding at Eden Soaring just up the road. Welcoming staff, good food (and beer) and a comfortable room .. what more could you ask for!? (OK, less rain on my last day...)

Reviewer: Doug Greenwell | Sat 4th Oct 2014


black swan cumbria - Rating 5/5

Lovely young staff excellent food and accommodation. Could\'nt fault anything

Reviewer: Edward Costello | Wed 1st Oct 2014


Shout break - Rating 5/5

We last visited The Black Swan about ten years ago and now find it to have been completely refurbished.The old charm of a country pub has gone but the refurd\' is first class.The high standard is maintained by the staff and the service offered, with a good menue of well cooked and presented food in a pleasant and comfortable restaurant.A well stocked bar with cask ales and a first class staff to look after you.

Reviewer: Edward Costello | Wed 1st Oct 2014


Highly Recommend the Black Swan - Rating 5/5

We have just had a nights stay at the Black Swan which was excellent - lovely people and wonderful food - would definately, stay again

Reviewer: Jaqueline Jackson | Sun 28th Sep 2014


Black Swan, Culgaith - Rating 4/5

A couple of minor items that needed attention in the bathroom, but otherwise we were very happy with the pub and its facilities. Staff very friendly, good bar and excellent food.

Reviewer: Mr Yarwood | Thu 25th Sep 2014


Third time\'s a charm! - Rating 5/5

This was our third visit to the Black Swan, and it didn\'t disappoint- great location, helpful and friendly staff, beautifully clean and comfortable rooms, delicious food. Well worth a visit if you\'re in this neck of the woods. Would also like to recommend the Mill Yard Cafe in nearby Morland as a place to eat through the day -OMG, the cream scones and cafes!! Definitely worth the ten minute drive - this was recommended to us by a member of staff from the Swan. We\'ll be back to both the Swan and the cafe!

Reviewer: Mrs. Val Harrison | Tue 23rd Sep 2014


Lovely quiet hotel - Rating 4/5

Comfortable clean cosy room. Staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent food.

Reviewer: Philip Wilkinson | Sun 21st Sep 2014


Excellent - Rating 5/5

The only thing wrong with our stay, it was not long enoug. Very friendly, and we will be back. The food is first class and service excellent. Thankyou very much.

Reviewer: Don Wheeler | Thu 18th Sep 2014


What a stay - Rating 5/5

Great stay couldn\'t have been better staff great food fabulous room fine .Will definetley return

Reviewer: Stephen Marshall | Wed 10th Sep 2014


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Family Rooms
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • Wedding Functions
  • Romantic Breaks
  • Walking Holidays
  • Country Retreat